Body language analysis of O2 press conference.
February 23, 2011, 03:26:40 AM
I viewed this particular video of the press conference: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

I'm no expert, but I've read a lot of body language books, I'm really into psychology (hoping to study it soon.)  I found new, interesting things from the video as I went along, that I'd never noticed until now.  Here's my take it on it, and I hope it makes sense:

When Michael starts to say "These will be..." he uses what experts call a "politician's point" which, as the name suggests it's the gesture a lot of politicians use. It means they are trying to get a clear point across.  The gesture is when he presses his index finger and thumb together.

Michael then shows the palm of his hand for quite a long time. Any time we see the palm, we can assume the person is honest.  Perhaps Michael knows this and kept it up for a long time, purposely to gain the audience's trust; as if to prove he is being honest.  After this he goes back to the politician's point.

He then starts to say "This will be it, and when I say this is it, it really means this is it..."  and right as he says "it really means this is it" he closes his fingers over his palm (not so honest?)

He starts giggling which could be from all the attention and he feels embarrassed (he's done that plenty of times) and he leans over the podium, as if he doesn't want to look at the audience (again may just be embarrassment.) The hand over the chest implies again, honesty, sincerity.  But he puts his left hand first and then right, so both hands are on his chest. Defensiveness, insecurity maybe?  

Then he smiles and touches his bottom lip: "I'll be performing the songs my fans wanna hear." When he says the word "fans" his shoulders go up, that suggests tension, nervousness.  Touching the lip/laughing could mean lying but any time anything goes up to the mouth, it means the person is seeking reassurance.  So insecurity is there.